South Carolina Wing
Main Content

South Carolina Wing Directors

Command tasks within the South Wing are subdivided into Directorates. Directors are responsible for managing and administering various functions within the organization. Many directors report to the SCWG Chief of Staff, Lt Col Nicole R. Shaffner, CAP. Some directors report to either of the two Deputy Chiefs of Staff--Lt Col James Brogan, CAP, and Capt Rachael J. Mercer, CAP. South Carolina Wing, like nearly every other wing in Civil Air Patrol, has directors for these and other functions:

  • Aerospace Education
  • Cadet Programs
  • Communications
  • Finance
  • Health Services
  • Information Technology
  • Logistics
  • Operations
  • Professional Development
  • Public Affairs
  • Recruitment and Retention
  • Safety


Wing Administrator: Ms Jennifer Shockley –


Director of Administration: Capt Bill Moylan –


Director of Aerospace Education: LtCol. Mitchell (Mitch) Monroe –


Director of Cadet Programs: LtCol George A. Stanley –


Director of Communications: Maj Ronald N. (Ron) Hardgrave –


Director of Development: Open


Director of Education and Training: Capt Nancy Reason –


Director of Emergency Services: Capt Jeffery (Jeff) Dockery –


Director of Finance: Capt Stephen (Steve) Blanton -


Asst. Director of Finance: LtCol Kent McCoin –


Director of Health Services:  LtCol Kimberly M. DeVolld –


Director of Information Technology: Col Hubbard J. (Jay) Lindler –

Asst. Director of Information Technology: Capt Christopher Belczyk -


Director of Logistics: Maj Paul A. (Adrian) Carnes –


Director of Operations: LtCol Mark H. Bailey –


Director of Public Affairs: 2dLt Stephen England –


Director of Recruiting & Retention: Maj Norman S. (Norm) Spurling –


Director of Safety: Capt Billy G. Wilson –


Director of Small Unmanned Aerial Systems: Capt John (Brad) Morris –


Cadet Activities Officer: Capt Erick Nason –


Cadet Advisory Council Advisor: Maj Norman S. (Norm) Spurling –


Cadet Advisory Council Chairperson: C/Capt Jackson Scaletta


Communications Licensing Officer: LtCol Paul D. Selig –


Cyber Programs Officer: LtCol Paul Selig –


Diversity & Inclusion Officer: 1stLt Katie Roberts –


Government Relations Advisor: LtCol Steven (Steve) Hyland –


Historian: Capt Erick Nason –


Homeland Security Officer: LtCol Brett (Bart) Grooms –

Inspector General: Maj Karen L. Taylor –


Legal Officer: Maj Michael O. Eckard –


Maintenance Officer – Aircraft: LtCol William (Bill) Shook –


NCO Advisors: SMSgt Steven Fox –


MSgt Charles D. (Dan) McManus –


Newsletter Editor: Capt David M. Bennett –


Personnel Officer: Capt Bill Moylan –


Plans & Programs Officer: LtCol Nicole (Nikki) Shaffner (pro tem) –


Stan/Eval Officer: LtCol Timothy E. (Tim) Coolidge –


Transportation Officer: SMSgt Steven Fox –


Asst. Transportation Officer & CAP Driver’s License: SMSgt Steven C. (Steve) Fox –

© 2024 Civil Air Patrol. All rights reserved.